Friday, 16 May 2014

Commonwealth prize regional winners are announced

Commonwealth Writers has announced the regional winners of the 2014 Commonwealth Short Story Prize with ,for the first time, the prizes going to women.
The Prize provides a platform for writers from the 53 countries of the Commonwealth and this year unpublished stories were entered by nearly 4,000 writers.
The winners were:
Africa Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi, Let's Tell This Story Properly, Uganda
Asia Sara Adam Ang, A Day in the Death, Singapore
Canada and Europe Lucy Caldwell, Killing Time, United Kingdom
Caribbean Maggie Harris, Sending for Chantal, Guyana
Pacific Lucy Treloar, The Dog and the Sea, Australia
The winners will be judged against other to become the overall winner, which will be announced in Kampala, Uganda, on 13 June.
Judges' chair Ella Allfrey, Deputy Chair of the Council of the Caine Prize and previously Deputy Editor of Granta and Senior Editor at Jonathan Cape, Random House, was quoted by the Daily Mail newspaper as saying: “In the end, the stories that impressed us the most were those that took risks – in subject and style.”

You can find out more at:

John Dean

No comments:

Post a Comment